Just to point out, do not name a field "language" if you are planning to create an index

Maybe I am mistaken, but just wanted to share my experience.

I am a Digital Humanities technician, and I am having my first approach to indexes in MongoDB. My current project requires to create a database about medieval manuscripts, which would include information such as “Country of creation”, “Scribe”, “Ink type” and so on. The thing is that I cannot use the word “Language” to indicate which language was used to write each one of the manuscripts, because Mongo will believe that I am trying to define the language of the index, and thus, will return the following error:

Index build failed: 4400000-0000-406e-0080-00e2253a7d93: Collection MyCollection ( 0d0000-0005-4001-9000-37cbe9cd0000 ) :: caused by :: language override unsupported:

I will look for an alternative name for that field to avoid said error. I wanted to leave this piece of advise here just in case any other DH baby (like me) is having the same issue.

Cheers!

Hi @Irene_Rincon

Field name restrictions are documented here: https://www.mongodb.com/docs/manual/core/document/#field-names

Can you add what driver is being used and versions of mongodb and driver. As well as how the index is being defined.

Using language as a field name or index name is not an issue: mongosh 2.1.1, mongodb 7.0.1

db.getSiblingDB('test').foo.insertMany([ 
  { language: 'eng', foo: 'bar' }, 
  { language: 'fra', foo: 'baz' }
])

db.getSiblingDB('test').runCommand({ 
  createIndexes: 'foo', 
  indexes: [
    { key: { language: 1 }, name: 'language' }, 
    { key: { language: -1 }, name: 'language_desc' }
  ] 
})

db.getSiblingDB('test').foo.getIndexes()
[
  { v: 2, key: { _id: 1 }, name: '_id_' },
  { v: 2, key: { language: 1 }, name: 'language' },
  { v: 2, key: { language: -1 }, name: 'language_desc' }
]

Very cool.

2 Likes