Issues deploying Charts container on RHEL server

Hi,

I am new to Mongo. I have setup an on-prem MongoDB and I was trying to setup Mongo Charts (ver 19.12.2) by following the documentation.

Below is what i see for each command executed (in sequence):

docker stack deploy -c /home/mongodb-charts/charts-docker-swarm-19.12.2.yml mongodb-charts
Creating network mongodb-charts_backend
Creating service mongodb-charts_charts

docker service ls
ID NAME MODE REPLICAS IMAGE
tjpbzxt01ymi mongodb-charts_charts replicated 0/1 Quay

docker service logs tjpbzxt01ymi
No output. It hangs there for a long time. I had to exit out of this.

Even after waiting for half-day, i do not see the replicas as 1/1 and i cant pull up the container logs.

Below is my environment:

RHEL v 7.9
Docker Client v1.13.1
Docker Server v1.13.1

Note: I updated the version number in docker compose file to 3.1 (from 3.3) as i was seeing an “unsupported version error”

Any guidance on how to debug this issue is very much appreciated.

Hi @Tej_R -

The first thing I’d check is whether the Charts image has been pulled down successfully. You can do this by running docker pull quay.io/mongodb/charts:19.12.2 before trying to deploy the stack. I’ve seen behaviour similar to what you’ve described when there are problems pulling the image due to network problems, low disk space, etc.

Let me know if that helps at all.
Tom

1 Like

Hi @tomhollander ,

Thanks for the quick response.

I had network restrictions from the server and hence i used a workaround:

Download the image on a different machine -> save it as a tar file -> move the tar file to the server -> load the image into docker

Do you think something might have gone wrong with the above workaround.

I can try downloading the image again but can’t do it directly on the server. Is there an alternative location to get the image.

Also, how can i verify the integrity/correctness of the image after i download it?

Thanks.

Hi @Tej_R -