Is querying a collection based on _id faster than other field with b-tree jndex

Hi all,

I am pretty new to Mongodb and to this forum. I need some help in understanding behavior of Mongodb query performance in case of search using $in operator.
So in case 1 I am passing an array of possible _id values to search matching documents in Mongodb. The array can contain 100+ to 1000 elements.
In case 2 I am trying to filter on another unique field called OrgId by passing an array of possible OrgId values having 100+ to 1000 elements.

Case1:
A.find( { _id : { $in:[ObjectId(xx), ObjectId(xy)…] } } )

Case 2:

A.find( { OrgId : { $in:[“123”,“234”, …] } } )

I observed that in case 2 the response takes 5-10 seconds while in case 1 response comes back in 1-2 secs even though OrgId field also has a unique index created on it. Both cases number of array elements passed is 100.
I did not understand reason behind this. Can anyone help explain this.

PS: Both _id and OrgId fields will point to same set of documents in the query.

-Deepak

Hi @Deepak_Rai ,

The _id is indeed a little bit optimised for cheery picking as it is used for replication as well. This index will usually maintain a better natural insert order if generated with auto ObjectId

In order to better understand the difference we need to compare execution plans with executionStats enabled.

Now what I can say is that a 100 $in operations is not that good as they are translated to range and not equality index operations …

Is there a way to change your schema and have a more selective query like parentOrg : 1 which will have all associated orgs under it… Why do you need all 100 elements in one query?

Thanks