Install and Replace mongodb pkg

I’m new to mongodb administration and Linux. I have been tasked with upgrading replica sets on EC2 (Ubuntu) from 3.6 to 4.0. Reading through some instructions and demos online I have questions about the steps I should take:

1. shutdown the mongo instance on the secondary member
  2. download and install 4.0 binary
  3. start the mongo instance on the secondary member

what happens when I run apt-get install for mongo 4.0 while 3.6 is running?
do I need to move the 4.0 binaries to a different dir than where 3.6 binaries are located?
some posts mention ‘replacing’ the 3.6 pkg with the 4.0 pkg - does that mean overwriting?

my plan was to create a new dir and download the 4.0 pkg there. then cd into that dir and start the mongo service for the replica set member using the existing conf file. will that work or cause an issue with the existing 3.6 pkg?

1 Like

The steps are all in the upgrade guide.

The binaries are updated and the systemctl is called with daemon-reload. The existing version will continue to run. But if you are following the upgrade guide the server is shut down first.

No. The package manager will install the new files over the old.

Yes

Follow the upgrade guide.

2 Likes

The binaries are updated and the systemctl is called with daemon-reload. The existing version will continue to run. But if you are following the upgrade guide the server is shut down first.

This is the part that confuses me in the rolling upgrade guide. I have three instances running on localhost:27017, localhost:27018, and localhost:27019
I connect to the instance on localhost:27019 and run db.shutdownServer()
Then I run apt-get install for mongo 4.0 and restart the instance.
What happens to the other replica set members on ports 27017 and 27018 that I didn’t shut down prior to the 3.6 pkg being replaced with 4.0? Its odd to me that they will still run after I overwrite 3.6