Importing 917MB of JSON data

Hello Admins,
I’d like to ask the same question because I have a hunch that this is the issue that I am facing. I am a student who is fairly new to MongoDB, I am attempting to import a tweeter json data which is currently 917mb.

The file looks like this:

There are 18M lines of tweet data which only contain the date of the tweet and the text itself.

Could anyone please help me get around this issue?

Thank you for your attention!
Jim

The error I am having is this:

When you documents are inside an array you have to use the option --jsonArray option.

However in you case I am not sure it will work because you will exceed the 16Mb size.

I suggest that you use jq to change the format of your file to something like:

{
	"date" : 1 ,
	"tweet" : "hello"
}
{
	"date" : 2 ,
	"tweet" : "world"
}

That is remove the opening and closing square brackets and the comma separating each tweet. The document structure is simple and you could also use an text editor to reformat.

2 Likes

@steevej ,
Thank you for your reply. Appreciated it.
I’ve done as you’ve recommended to remove the ‘[ ]’ at the beginning and end of the file.
Screenshot 2022-03-23 004402

I now have a different error saying " Failed: error processing document #2: invalid character ‘,’ looking for beginning of value "

Any thoughts?

Jim

More info:
I’m following a thread about this error. Here is a verbose output of the error

Let me know if this helps.

J

you missed the following part of my post

Thank you!
From the thread that I was reading, the guy mentioned the same. When I came back here, I felt so stupid coz the answer was already given to my stupid head and I neglected it.

@steevej
After removing the commas (using jq), I am now faced with another error:

“{Failed: error processing document #1: invalid character ‘\x1b’ looking for beginning of value}”