Image data type in schema [RN Realm]

Hello, I have a similar if not identical use case as the WILDAID o-fish project. I read all related topics and posts here in the forums, but could not find my answer. I am new to S3 as well. The task is to use device sync to sync an image (<1MB) to Atlas and after that upload it to S3 and delete the image data from Atlas, just keep an url reference to the S3 object. All of this uses Triggers and Functions. I am using React Native (Expo) with flexible sync and my question is: what is the appropriate data type for the image data and how to define it in my realm schema? Should I be using the 'string' data type and encoding the image as a base64 string? Or should I be using the binary data type of some sort, perhaps 'data'? I guess it all depends on what is more efficient and what is used to store the image on S3. I don’t know what is a good practice for storing images on S3.

export class Photo extends Realm.Object<Photo> {
    photo_name!: string;
    photo!: ArrayBuffer;
    photo_url!: string;

static schema: Realm.ObjectSchema = {
        name: "Photo",
        embedded: true,
        properties: {
            photo_name: "string",
            photo: { type: "data", optional: true, default: null },
            photo_url: "string",
        },
    };
}

},
    };
}

These are what I imagine the schema could look like. Also for string data types, when I wan to delete the data, do I set it o null or to ""?

Hi Damien

I would recommend that you upload to S3 directly, and only ever store the url in Realm.

If you want to trampoline on Atlas for the sake of authentication, then use a Atlas AppServices Function, but never store the actual blob in Realm, pass the image directly to that function.

Br, Kasper