I want to install mongodb on kubernetes cluster using master/slave concept

Hi All,

I want to install mongodb on GKE Cluster and I’m new to MongoDB dont know which procedure do i follow to install or setup

My conditions

1. It should have master and slave concept
  2. i want to install mongodb using helm chart or kubectl whichever is that
  3. first i will install in dev env and in production also
  4. Im installing in GKE
  5. im looking for opensource mongodb not PAID

Please share me any link or video or docs to easily understand and install

Hi @Mohd_Rashid and welcome to MongoDB community forums!!

Based on the above statement, if you are looking to install MongoDB in master slave concept, the feature has been shut down since MongoDB version 4.0.
Hence the recommendation would be to use the latest version for new features and bug fixes.

In order to install MongoDB in a kubernetes environment, you can perform the same using help charts and kubectl function.
If you have install Google Kubernetes environment, you use the access link to access the environment and create the deployment, service and other yaml files.
You can follow the steps present in one of my posts as part of 100DaysOfCode challenge.

However, in saying so, if you wish to use MongoDB on a kubernetes production environment, I would recommend to use MongoDB Kubernetes Operator for its improved management and operational support.
You can follow the blog posts on Deploying the MongoDB Enterprise Kubernetes Operator on Google Cloud for further understanding.

Best Regards
Aasawari

OK thanks for that help sure i will check those links which u have given to me

but last question if not master and slave concept can u suggest me which should i install and setup

OR

Plse suggest which is good for production and dev ENV and also plse send me link where i can follow and install it

Hi @Mohd_Rashid