How to insert documents and have a reference from "data" documents to a "metadata" document

I’m new to MongoDB and have taken the M001 course but not sure how to perform the following:
I have a large number of json files that are “metadata” and “data”. The data documents are a many to one relationship to the metadata, ie one metadata document is the same for many data documents. How to I insert the metadata document, then all of the data documents with a reference to its respective metadata document? I suspect the best reference to use in the data document is the metadata’s _id, but not sure how to insert the metadata document, get it’s _id and then add that to the data documents as a field prior to the insert. I should also mention that I would put the metadata and data documents in different collections. I have also found a mongodb tool called mongoimport that may be useful to do this, but suspect I will have to insert all of these files via a program in javascript or python.
Any thoughts on this and the best approach would be appreciated.

Hi @Leon_Werenka ,

Usually we will see a structure such as :

//Metadata collection
{
   _id : "abc" ,
   metadataField1 : 
}

// Data collection
{
 _id : "111",
 metadataId : "abc",
 dataField1 : ... ,
}

{
 _id : "222",
 metadataId : "abc",
 dataField1 : ... ,
}

This will form a one to many relationship between the collections , you can still add additional data to the metadata collection like “numberOfDataDocs” and maintain it over time.

Now the import question can be done in many ways. You can write script or code that first insert the metadata gets the ids needed and embed it in the data docs when they are inserted.

If you use an import tool that cannot perform this logic easily then either have the ids pre set in the loaded documents or load into a staging collection and use $merge aggregation to populate them

Thanks
Pavel