How to connect to MongoDB Atlas from Google App Engine

Hello, I started learning how to use MongoDB and I am trying now to connect to my database from a Google App Engine instance (flexible). I’m using NodeJS v16 and MongoDB v5.1 driver. I took the most basic code from here https://www.mongodb.com/docs/drivers/node/current/quick-start/connect-to-mongodb/ , yet the connection fails with the error MongoServerSelectionError: connection <monitor> to 35.187.27.116:27017 closed at Timeout._onTimeout and type: 'ReplicaSetNoPrimary'. From what I’ve read it has something to do with the IP address being blocked?

I saw saw a solution to use VPC network peering, but I’m using an M0 cluster for now so it doesn’t let me. Do I have to use a paid subscription to be able to connect from App Engine to the database? or is there a way to do it with the free tier, at least for testing?

This is my code, the connection part taken from the link above. Am I missing something?

const { MongoClient } = require("mongodb");

const uri = "mongodb+srv://NBirarov:<password>@rperception.m8wjs1d.mongodb.net/?retryWrites=true&w=majority";
const mongoDBclient = new MongoClient(uri);

async function writeNewUser(email, tokenid){  //Calling this function after user logs in with email
    try {
        const database = mongoDBclient.db('RPerception');
        const users = database.collection('Users');
        const user = {
            "email": email,
            "tokenID": tokenid
        }

await users.insertOne(user);
    }
    finally{
        console.log('Email saved');
    }
}

Thank you for the help

• Update: I went to Network Access and added “Allow Access From Anywhere” and it works with that. Of course it is not a good idea for a finished product, so if anyone has other solutions I would appreciate it.

Hello @Yoav_Banitt ,

Welcome to The MongoDB Community Forums! :wave: