How to Auto sort on one field in MongoDB?

I am new to the MongoDB database. Because the number of records is very large, it takes us a lot of time to sort them in each query. I want to have a field called Id, like in SQL server, that I can set myself. And when I retrieve the information from this table, the information will be returned to me sorted according to the Id field. With my research, I found out that fields cannot be auto-incremented in NoSQL databases. Now if we index on the Id field according to the following command:

db.users.createIndex({ Id: 1 })

When reading the information in this table, the records will be sorted by Id or do we need to re-sort in the query?

Hey @Hossein_Mahdavi,

Welcome to the MongoDB Community!

Based on the following documentation, if you index the Id field, the records will be sorted by Id when you read the documents from the collection, and there is no need to re-sort the query.

However, if you want to sort the documents by Id in descending order, you can use the following query:

db.users.find().sort({ Id: -1 })

The -1 in the sort() method tells MongoDB to sort the documents in descending order.

Let us know if you have any other questions.

Regards,
Kushagra

I think this answer is a bit misleading.

I am pretty sure that despite the existence of index {Id:1} that the documents are not necessarily return in sorted order of Id unless sort({Id:1}) is used. Calling db.users.find() will produce document in a random order. Calling db.users.find().sort({Id:1}) will present the document in ascending order of Id, a sort will not be perform because the index can be used to returned the documents in the desired order.

By reading myself I am not that clear either but to resume.

1 - db.users.find() returns documents in random order
2 - db.users.find().sort({Id:1}) returns document sorted by Id but the server do not perform a sort