{
      "human": "how is weather today",
      "chatbot": "It's 30 degree celsius",
      "startTime": 1709660789236,
      "endTime": 1709660796201
    }
  ]
}

I would like to export all records that fall within a specific date range based on message.endTime. here is my pipeline

[
  {
    $match: {
      "messages.human": {
        $ne: "",
      },
      "messages.endTime": {
        $gte: 1709663400000,
        $lte: 1712341799999,
      },
    },
  },
  {
    $unwind: "$messages",
  },
]

but this is taking more than 1 min for 10k records with node.js aggregate wrapper

1. how can i improve the performance?
  2. Is there any settings i need to update/modify in mongodb?
  3. I’m trying to export 100k records, what’s the best approach?

Note: if I add an additional stage to the pipeline ($count), it’s just taking 5 seconds.

I’m new to mongo DB please bear with me if I’m asking a dumb question. Thanks!

Do you have indexes setup on the data that satisfy your match conditions?

I feel deception when we spend time reading posts and the original author does not do any followup.

Cheers to you John

1 Like

Yes, it is a shame when we dont hear anything back! Seems pointless to take time to make a post thats well formated and just ignore it!

1 Like

@John_Sewell @steevej I’m extremely sorry for delayed response. This was my first port and so my account was under review. I missed these replies.

Yes, I have indexes setup on “messages .startTime”, “messages.endTime” and “session_id”.

“messages.human” is a text field and could have long string, so I haven’t indexed this field.

1 Like

Welcome back :slight_smile:

When you say you have indexes on those three fields, is it three indexes or one compound index on three fields?