How can I delete the documents between two dates from a Time Series collection?

I have a simple Time Series collection created with the following parameters:

timeseries: {
   timeField: "timestamp",
   granularity: "seconds"
}

The documents contain data about the market price of some asset. Due to a change on how the price is calculated, I need to delete the documents between two dates, before re-inserting the documents with corrections.

But according to the doc, delete commands on Time Series collections have the following limitation:

The query may only match on metaField field values.

I am new to MongoDB so I’m probably missing something here, but I do not understand this limitation:

1. The timeField being the main index for a time series, why can’t it be used to match the documents?
  2. Do I misunderstand what Time Series collections are meant for?
  3. How can I delete the documents between two dates? Right now, I’m thinking of adding the document timestamp in metaField, but this duplication feels completely unnecessary and I wonder how performance will be affected.

In case it helps to answer my question, this is how I wanted to do this operation, using the following Go code:

filter := bson.D{{
		Key: "timestamp",
		Value: bson.D{
			{
				Key:   "$gte",
				Value: timestamp_start,
			},
			{
				Key:   "$lt",
				Value: timestamp_end,
			},
		},
	}}
	result, err := coll.DeleteMany(context.TODO(), filter)

This fails with the following error: Cannot perform an update or delete on a time-series collection when querying on a field that is not the metaField.

1 Like

@x8X5HXVGK thanks for the question!