Hackathon Project: Issue reshape of the data from collection eventscsv to collection events

Hello I am watching the video Introduction to GDELT for the MongoDB World Hackathon 22 - Session 1 MongoDB presented by Shane and JoeDrumgoole.

I am trying to replicate what they do in the video but I have on issue when trying to do the reshape of the data from collection eventscsv to collection events.

Running:

gdelttools-master % make reshape

I can see in terminal:

mongosh --quiet --file=gdelt_reshaper.js

But the collection events is not created and no more info is provided.

I have no experience working with make and I don’t know if there is any previous configuration to be done in the Makefile file.

(I don’t make any changes to Makefile, it’s the same than in the repo).

I am using a Mac for the hackathon.

I have just installed make (It was not installed previously):

$ brew install make

And try again

gdelttools-master % make reshape

I would appreciate help to be able to execute the script correctly, thanks in advance.

Hi Manuel,
I reshaped the data passing directly the gdelt_reshaper.js to the mongosh

Welcome

2 Likes

I’d recommend running the gdelt_reshaper.js directly with mongosh, as @Crist recommends.

If you’re not running MongoDB on localhost, and the direct port, you may also want to provide the connection string of your MongoDB cluster to mongosh, like this:

mongosh mongodb+ssh://username:password@your.cluster.com/yourdatabase gdelt_reshaper.js
1 Like

Hi Manuel,

The reshape step assumes you have already loaded some data with the gdeltloader script. If you follow the package steps you should get some output.

pip install gdelttools # install the package
gdeltloader --master --download --overwrite --last 20 # download the last 20 days of data
make full_data_load #load the downloaded data and reshape it

If you do those steps in order you should get some output.

2 Likes