Getting most recent documents in time series collection

Hi all,

we use a time series collection and need to regularly collect and display the first 50, 100, 250 documents of a device. Individual entries must be unique and updatable, so duplicates must always be filtered out (using a group). I’m new to mongo and stuck at calculating the document count.

I have two ideas:

1. Aggregate the documents via the system.bucket and use its control.count field to determine the current document count. Then break as soon as the desired limit is reached. Yet, I don’t know how to do this dynamically and more important directly in the aggregation. In fact, I currently just guess the $limit.

2. Use the time series collection (not the internal bucket collection) and limit documents using a time window. Yet, I don’t know how to dynamically increase the window in the aggregation.

Here are two examples.
Example aggregation using the time series collection:

const cursor = await db.collection(test).aggregate([
    {
      $match: {
        "meta.ti": ti,
        "meta.type": "P",
        ts: {
          $lte: new Date("2022-05-27T16:40:29.000Z"),
          $gte: new Date("2022-05-09T06:10:22.000Z"),
        },
      },
    },
    {
      $group: {
        _id: {
          ti: "$meta.ti",
          trace: "$trace",
            $dateTrunc: {
              date: "$ts",
              unit: "day",
              startOfWeek: "monday",
              binSize: 1,
            },
          },
        },
        docs: {
          $topN: {
            output: "$$ROOT",
            sortBy: {
              _id: 1,
            },
            n: 1,
          },
        },
      },
    },
    {
      $sort: {
        "docs.ts": -1,
      },
    },
  ]);

Example aggregation using the system.bucket collection:

const cursor = await db.collection(system.buckets.test).aggregate([
    {
        "meta.ti": ti,
        "meta.type": "P",
      },
    },
    { $limit: 2 },
    {