Formatting and layout of retrieved records

Hello everybody,
I’m not a programmer and I presume the frontend web application takes care of the formatting of the retrieved output.

In my situation, almost each record has different content and my question is:

How is the formatting of a document (record) done in the frontend if the contents are almost never the same from document-to-document?

I need to deal with stuff like:

Different point sizes
Superscripts / subscripts
Bold, italic, underline, strike through
Tabs, indents.

In a website you can tag the content ahead of time and work with CSS, but I don’t know how it works when
you’re retrieving records from a MongoDB database.

Can somebody let their light shine on this and explain whether it is at all possible, and if so, how?

The content in question here, are dictionary entries and glossary entries.

Thanks in advance for the feedback.

Regards,

Carel.

1 Like

Hi @Carel_Schilp,

Can you share a bit more about your data and what you want your expected output to be?

I’ll make some guesses here. Perhaps you want the word to be bold and it’s definition to not be bold. So you could store the word and definition in separate fields in a document in the database. You could write a loop that pulls out each document. Inside of that loop, you could create the html/css for each word and definition.

If I may add.

MongoDB university has 4 courses that might be of interest. It is the M220 series of courses. You have different versions of the course for different languages; Java, JavaScript, Python and C#/.Net. They feature web front end. See https://university.mongodb.com/ for more details.

2 Likes

Hi Lauren,

After rereading your reply, the sentence below might be the key to my problem. I’ll need to investigate that more. Could you send me an example for me to get an idea of what that would look like. Thx. Carel.

Thanks Steeve,

I’ll look into them.

Regards,

Carel.

Hi Lauren,