Extracting specific values from documents - using C Driver

Hey there,
I am new to MongoDB. I have a few basic questions regarding the extraction of data. I am working on a little project where order data is stored on MongoDB and I need to extract certain parts of it with a C program running on ubuntu. So every time a order arrives, a new document with all the necessary data is uploaded to a collection. The data contains mostly of float or double variables.

I already installed the C drivers and libraries on my ubuntu pc, established a connection and I am able to list the collections or documents for example. But now I am a little bit lost, mainly because I do not know the best approach to solve my problem, because there seem to be so manny different ways to do it.

Do I need to download or locally store a document to be able to search it? Or to read it? Do I need to define an own bson document in order to fill it with the data extracted or can I just extract integers or characters? What is the best way to do it?

I would appreciate a hint in the right direction and the needed functions

thanks a lot :slight_smile:

Hello @Alexander_Laub, welcome to the MongoDB Community forum!

Here is some info and hope is useful to you.

Do I need to download or locally store a document to be able to search it? Or to read it?

When you perform a read operation on a collection, you get some/one/none documents from the database into your application. The number of documents returned depend upon the filter you specify in the find method. Then there is a feature called as projection. Projection allows you specify in the find method what specific fields of the document you want to retreive from the database for the matching filter. The search happens on the database server and the application receives the result.

The find method retreives a cursor into the application, which can be used to read the documents. The cursor will be empty, if there is no match for the specified filter.