Documents being rearranged on their own?

Lately I’ve noticed the order of my documents in collections being changed automatically. I haven’t been able to spot any pattern in it - they change seemingly randomly and then eventually revert back to normal. These are documents that aren’t even being modified.

Any idea what’s causing this behaviour? Thanks!

1 Like

Hi @TemeS,

Why is it a problem if you don’t expect them to be in a certain order?
In theory, docs are supposed to stay in the same natural order if the collection is read only.
I’m not a pro of the WiredTiger internals but I don’t see a reason why the engine would reorder docs randomly without any write operation.

If you expect the docs in a non-random order, I would advice to create an index and add a sort to your query to “sort” this problem. :slight_smile:

If you just always want them in the same order and you don’t care which one it is, I would sort on the _id field (and the index already exists so it’s free).

Cheers,
Maxime.

1 Like

Hey,

thanks for the reply! The order they were originally implemented in is the order that they’re meant to be presented in the app. But an even bigger problem is that as my server and clients both read from those same documents, them getting “randomly” rearranged means that the clients and server will have different views on the data.

The app in question is in closed development so nothings urgently on the line here but I’m quite confused by the behaviour. There’s definitely no write actions happening on those documents.

I could just sort the data when querying it but it’s strange that the initial order of documents isn’t preserved.

It is the only way to present data in a consistent order.