Data consistency in Mongodb good practice

Hello, I’m pretty new to mongodb. The senario is there are two collections Employee and Lead.

1. Employee
{
    "_id" : ObjectId("5e8f9cb7be4a20002cc7539a"),
    "email" : sales1@mongodb.com
    "name" : "John Doe",
}
  1. Lead
{
   "_id" : ObjectId("6e8f9cb7be4a20002cc7739b"),
    "leadNumber" : "L00023"
    "createdBy" : "John Doe",
}

Leads are created by employees, and I need to know which one created the lead. The problem is that employee names are updated because they get replaced or can leave the organization. Only the email id is consistent.

When fetching leads, how to get the current employee’s name. Do I have to store ID and execute lookup every time or embed employee details in lead and update all lead records when the employee name gets updated?

Hi,

I would recommend to store _id of the Employee and then perform the $lookup.

If you want to display the name of the createdBy and you want to optimize the query, you can add one more field createdByName that would store the name of the user who created the lead. In that case, you would not need to perform the $lookup since you will also have that info inside the document. To summarize, you would store both the _id and name of the employee. Downside of this is that you would have to manually update the name in all leads documents when employee name is changed, but since that will probably not happen that often, it’s great optimization. :smiley:

Hello,

I have two options now,

1. Store _id of the Employee in Lead, the downside is if I’m fetching 1000 records, 1000 lookups have to be performed.

2. Embed employee details such as ‘name’ and ‘_id’ on the lead document. The downside is, if the employee name is updated, all lead documents with the employee details have to be updated.