Console.logging out my aggregation pipeline for test

Hi there,

I am new to MongoDB and I wanted to make sure I have executed my code correctly to display an aggregation pipeline for testing purposes.

I am trying to console.log the below which does not return anything back to me. Is this an issue with the testing sample data?

const { MongoClient, ServerApiVersion } = require(‘mongodb’);
const uri = “mongodb+srv://michaelhardie:Finalfusion63@cluster0.semgmfx.mongodb.net/?retryWrites=true&w=majority”;
const client = new MongoClient(uri, { useNewUrlParser: true, useUnifiedTopology: true, serverApi: ServerApiVersion.v1 });
client.connect(async err => {
const collection = client.db(“sample_airbnb”).collection(“listingsAndReviews”);
// perform actions on the collection object

const pipeline = [
    {
      '$match': {
        'accommodates': {
          '$gt': 4
        }, 
        'price': {
          '$lt': 500
        }, 
        'amenities': 'Hair dryer'
      }
    }, {
      '$sort': {
        'price': 1
      }
    }, {
      '$project': {
        'name': 1, 
        'amenities': 1, 
        'price': 1, 
        'image': 1, 
        'descriptions': 1
      }
    }, {
      '$limit': 20
    }
  ]

const agg = await collection.aggregate(pipeline).toArray();

console.log(agg)

client.close();
});

Thanks in advance,
Michael

1 Like

When no document comes out from a pipeline, any of the following could be wrong.

1. You have the wrong database
  2. You have the wrong collection
  3. You have the wrong query, $match in this case

I would proceed in the following way.

1. Remove the $match stage and see if I have any document. If you have no document, then is is problem 1. or 2. Check both names. Note that the name can be correct but you might be on the wrong cluster.

2. Add back each of $match clauses one by one verify if you have documents or not.

3. When you have no documents, you know that the culprit is the last clause added.