Connecting to local mongodb server using nodejs

Hello! I am a beginner. I recently started node.js tutorial on w3schools on node.js. I stumbled on the place where I have to connect to mongodb. So, I created my project folder, changed to it, ran npm init, installed mongodb. Then I had to create a .js file with the following content:

var MongoClient = require('mongodb').MongoClient;
var url = "mongodb://localhost:27017/mydb";

MongoClient.connect(url, function(err, db) {
  if (err) throw err;
  console.log("Database created!");
  db.close();
});

But when I run it, the black cursor moves on a new line in the terminal and blinks for several seconds. It just hangs there and I get no error messages nor command prompt. After a few minutes I choose to Ctrl+C to stop it. I tried to use 127.0.0.1 instead of localhost, but that didn’t work either.
So, I started to read the doc on mongodb.com, which suggests using this code:

const { MongoClient, ServerApiVersion } = require("mongodb");
// Replace the placeholder with your Atlas connection string
const uri = "mongodb://localhost:27017";
// Create a MongoClient with a MongoClientOptions object to set the Stable API version
const client = new MongoClient(uri,  {
        serverApi: {
            version: ServerApiVersion.v1,
            strict: true,
            deprecationErrors: true,
        }
    }
);
async function run() {
  try {
    // Connect the client to the server (optional starting in v4.7)
    await client.connect();
    // Send a ping to confirm a successful connection
    await client.db("admin").command({ ping: 1 });
    console.log("Pinged your deployment. You successfully connected to MongoDB!");
  } finally {
    // Ensures that the client will close when you finish/error
    await client.close();
  }
}
run().catch(console.dir);

I am not aware of what all of this code does but at least it prints that it successfully connected and there is command prompt after running it.