Can't connect to MongoDB Atlas - querySrv ENOTFOUND

Hi all,

First of all, if this is not the right category, please let me know which one is.

I’m new to MongoDB. Made a local deploy and it’s running fine. Now I’m trying to set up an Atlas instance, but can’t seem to be able to connect to it.
I’m trying to use the string

mongodb+srv://pdantas:@cluster0.n2hlh.mongodb.net/test

as suggested in the “connect” session in Atlas console, however, when I enter this string in Compass I get the error

querySrv ENOTFOUND _mongodb._tcp.cluster0.n2hlh.mongodb.net

I’ve also tried connecting through mongosh and get the same error

C:\Users\OS16S8898>mongosh “mongodb+srv://cluster0.c0tbu.mongodb.net/myFirstDatabase” --username pdantas
Enter password: *******
Current Mongosh Log ID: 6165e8a56936fb42f0cbf229
Connecting to: mongodb+srv://cluster0.c0tbu.mongodb.net/myFirstDatabase
Error: querySrv ENOTFOUND _mongodb._tcp.cluster0.c0tbu.mongodb.net

I’ve whitelisted my IP, and even added 0.0.0.0/0 to the IP access list, to no avail. Can someone please help me find out what is it that I’m doing wrong?

Thanks!

1 Like

Hi @Pedro_Dantas,

Which versions are you using?

• Compass
  • MongoDB Atlas cluster
  • Mongosh

Also, this topic had a solution: https://www.mongodb.com/community/forums/t/readme-running-application-error-querysrv-enotfound-solved/85196/3

Does it work for you too?

1 Like

Try using google’s DNS 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4.

See Public DNS  |  Google Developers for more details.

2 Likes

Hi @MaBeuLux88.

• Compass 1.28.4
  • MongoDB Atlas cluster 4.4.9
  • Mongosh 1.1.0

Those were the latest versions that I could find.

About the solution detailed in the link, I tried formatting the string as instructed (using the mongodb protocol and a lista of the URLs for each shard separated by a comma) but still can’t get a connection (it does seem to be able to resolve the IP address, though).