Cannot connect remotely to mongodb

I have followed several guides on installing and configuring mongodb. None are working, but I think I’m close… I’ve have managed to get to a point that I can connect to the db server from the local server using the following command:

mongo -u user my_url/admin

However, I’m not able to connect to the server using the above command from a remote machine.

I’ve tried both with authentication enabled and disabled, and I’ve tried setting the bindIP to 0.0.0.0, or adding the remote url after a comma, or commenting out the line but nothing worked. I also created the firewall rules for port 127 with the following commands:

sudo iptables -A INPUT -p tcp --destination-port 27017 -m state --state NEW,ESTABLISHED -j ACCEPT
sudo iptables -A OUTPUT -p tcp --source-port 27017 -m state --state ESTABLISHED -j ACCEPT

What am I doing wrong? I am a beginner and it might be some stupid error :confused:

1 Like

By remote, do you mean a different machine on the same network or a different machine from another location?

If a different machine on the same network, it should work easily.

As for the other case, you need to connect using the public IP address of the server. That is not necessarily the IP address of the machine running mongod, if behind a NAT router or VPN. You may find the current public IP using https://www.whatismyip.com/.

1 Like

Hi Steeve, thank you for your answer. I am using a VM from the data center of my university and in order to access it I need to be connected to a VPN from the same data center. As I am still connected to the VPN when I try to access the server on the VM, I guess that we should be on the same network. Nevertheless as none of what I read is working I am not sure.

This is how I configured the mongo.conf file:

# network interfaces
  net:
    port: 27017
    bindIp: 127.0.0.1,1.2.3.4

I got 1.2.3.4 by running sudo ifconfig on the virtual machine and looking in the result for ens160