Building MongoDB with Branch Coverage Compiler Flag

Hi community,

I am trying to build MongoDB (latest version) with the goal to measure the branch coverage. I have no prior knowledge of building MongoDB, so I could use a little help. First, I wanted to ask as this has probably been done, if you can point me in the direction of any kind of documentation.

Second, I already was partially successful with running:

python buildscripts/scons.py install-mongod CCFLAGS="-g -fprofile-arcs -ftest-coverage" LINKFLAGS="-fprofile-arcs"

It seems to produce the correct files(.gcno) in sconf_temp, but I’m not sure how to proceed from here. The created executable doesn’t seem to create the relevant analysis files(gcda).

Thanks for any help in advance

Hi -

As far as build documentation, I’m sorry to report that it is more or less lacking. We have plans to address that, but it won’t happen right away. For now, your best resource to get build system questions answered is probably to post here.

Regarding your coverage build: by “latest version” do you mean v4.4 (i.e. latest stable release), or the master branch which is used for active development?

Meanwhile I just tested out your build command on the master branch and it seems to work for me. I get .gcno files, and after I run a binary I get .gcda files as well.

The .gcno files should exist in a lot more places than in sconf_temp though: you should find .gcno files for every object file under build/opt (that directory may vary with build options, but is correct for the build command you have provided). After you run a binary, you should also find .gcda files under built/opt:

$ find build/opt -name "*.gcno" | wc -l
$ find build/opt -name "*.gcda" | wc -l