Best practice for modeling collections for the blog application

Hi MongoDB Community,

I am posting this topic to hear your opinion and suggestions for improvements of the models that I already have. I have a lot of experience working with MongoDB, and I tried to apply all the best practices that I know of, but since the technology always evolves (and especially MongoDB) maybe I can improve my models even more.

I am building a blog application (where I will also write about the MongoDB of course), and I have the following models so far:

Users:
I am using here extended reference model for the followed_tags so I don’t have to fetch all the tags on the User Profile page. Also I am creating indexes for email_lowercase and google_id so I can quickly authenticate users, and I am creating index for author_url field so I can quickly find information for Authors page.

const userSchema = new Schema(
  {
    name: { type: String, required: [true, 'Name is required'] },
    email: { type: String, required: [true, 'Email is required'] },
    email_lowercase: { type: String, required: true, index: true },
    linkedin: { type: String },
    stackoverflow: { type: String },
    github: { type: String },
    twitter: { type: String },
    company: { type: String },
    company_website: { type: String },
    author_url: {
      type: String,
      required: [true, 'Display URL is required.'],
      unique: [true, 'Display URL has to be unique.'],
      index: true,
    },,
    image_url: { type: String },
    author_description: { type: String },
    google_id: { type: String, index: true },
    role: { type: String, default: 'USER' },
    last_visited: { type: Date, default: Date.now() },
    reset_password_token: { type: String, default: '' },
    salt: { type: String, select: false },
    hash: { type: String, select: false },
    number_of_articles: { type: Number },
    newsletter: { type: Boolean, default: false },
    followed_tags: {
      default: [],
      type: [