Best/Most efficient way to update a string field in all of the collections with large number of documents

I’m new to MongoDB with data in Mongo Atlas. I’ve to write a query to update a string field in a collection with large number of documents (north of 500,000). What is the best/ most efficient way to update a string field (say update the case) in all of the collection? Also, is there a way to flag any records that fail the operation or I’ve to resort to JS functions?

I’ll appreciate some pointers towards any material that discusses tips, pitfalls, best practices etc.

Thank you.

Hey :wave: @ibacompre,

Welcome to the MongoDB Community forums :sparkles:

There are two ways to do that, one is db.collection.updateMany() and another one is Bulk.find.update().

The updateMany operation is overall faster as it is parsed as an ordered bulk write operation that can re-use the resources when modifying the grouped documents matching the applied filter.

Whereas bulk operations create multiple different operations as shown below - that are sent in a single request to the server but are performed as a single separate operation:

var bulk = db.items.initializeUnorderedBulkOp();
bulk.find( { status: "D" } ).delete();
bulk.find( { status: "P" } ).update( { $set: { points: 0 } } )
bulk.execute();

The benefit of bulk operations over separate operations is that it generates a single request to the server for all included operations instead of a new request for each operation. It also allows us a higher level of control as to what documents are updated to minimize the risk of conflicting updates or undesired updates.

I think you can use either one of them.