Beginner question, query to update multiple records

Hello all,

I am new to MongoDB and like to know how to do a query because I am using Wekan board application that is using MongoDB.

I’ve learned that with the following query I can find boards where I am not an admin

db.getCollection(‘boards’).find({members: {$elemMatch: { userId: “USER-ID-HERE”, isAdmin: false} } })

The query I am looking for is how I can update all boards I am not the admin of, so set it from false to true

Thanks for helping.

Please provide sample documents from you collection and the expected results.

Coming up with documents that match your use-case in order to experiment is time consuming.

Please share anything you tried and indicate how it fails so that we do not experiment and propose a solution that you already rejected.

As a starting point look at updateMany because that will be the method to use rather than find().

The query parameter of updateMany() will be the same as your find().

The update parameter will be $set.

Of particular interest for your array update is https://www.mongodb.com/docs/manual/reference/method/db.collection.updateMany/#specify-arrayfilters-for-an-array-update-operations. However $ positional update might be sufficient in your case.

Hello @steevej
Thank you for helping me

I am not sure what you mean with sample documents? Do you mean a sample of the Wekan application? If so the developer provided one at https://boards.wekan.team/b/D2SzJKZDS4Z48yeQH/wekan-open-source-kanban-board-with-mit-license .

This is not the Wekan instance I am trying to change because that is not an open instance.
So I am trying to change all boards I am member of, but don’t have admin.
I didn’t tried any update / manyupdate query yet because I am too new to it and afraid I am doing something wrong. But if I do understand you well I can do:

db.getCollection(‘boards’).updateMany({members: {$elemMatch: { userId: “USER-ID-HERE”, isAdmin: false} } })