Atlas and Realm Users Question

Hello, everyone.

I am extremely new to MongoDB, Realm and Atlas. I have been fighting with getting my IOS app to connect to Realm for about two months and I am completely confused. Every time I think I am about to figure it out I get stuck again. I am sincerely hoping someone can help me better understand the Relationship between Realm and Atlas users.

My issue is that I am getting a permission denied error: Code 206:

2021-09-07 07:15:40.895880-0500 Traction on Realm[6804:414559] Sync: Connection[1]: Session[1]: Received: ERROR “Permission denied (BIND, REFRESH) - request logs URL: App Services” (error_code=206, try_again=true)

Here are the sync configuration that I have for both read and write:

{
  "%%user": "%%partition"
}

So my fundamental questions are:

• What’s the relationship between an Atlas User and a Realm User?
  • How do I make sure the Realm user knows that the Atlas user (which can’t be defined by an e-mail address) is the same?
  • Where do I need to look to start trying to figure out what’s going on?

Please let me know what additional code or settings might be useful.

1 Like

Hi @Amy_Young ,

Answering your questions:

What’s the relationship between an Atlas User and a Realm User?

None: Atlas users, in the context of a Realm App, are typically the users that have privileged access to the cluster and/or the databases, as maintainers, admins, etc. On the other hand, each Realm App (and you can have multiple in the same cluster) has its own set of users, that register and sign in via the providers you specify, and are not Atlas users.

How do I make sure the Realm user knows that the Atlas user

They don’t, they live in separate contexts, and typically there’s no reason why they would need to communicate: what would be your use case for them to be aware of each other?

Where do I need to look to start trying to figure out what’s going on?