Best Practices for Running MongoDB on AWS

November 20, 2019

10 AM IST | 12:30 PM SGT | 3:30 PM AEST

MongoDB is the most popular non-relational database and as a result, it is also one of the most widely-deployed technologies on Amazon Web Services. This popularity is, in part, a result of how easy it is to set up and build apps on MongoDB in the cloud. However, it can be more challenging to ensure you are getting the most out of your MongoDB clusters, especially without a dedicated DevOps team.

When FanFight (a Fantasy Sports League platform) scaled to over a million registered users, they faced the challenge of revamping their app to provide the fastest and best experience for fans. After seamlessly migrating to MongoDB Atlas on AWS, they gained better insight into the performance of their database with real-time monitoring, experienced improved scalability which resulted in lower latency and faster response times to take their Fantasy Sports League platform to the next level.

In this webinar, we introduce you to the different ways you can go about deploying and managing MongoDB on AWS, including MongoDB's cloud database service, MongoDB Atlas. We will also provide various tips to ensure your deployments are configured for high availability, optimal security, and query performance.

In this session, you will learn:

  • Various options for deploying and managing MongoDB on AWS and how to decide which is right for your team, including a brief demo of MongoDB Atlas.
  • Tools to help maximize the performance of your MongoDB deployments on AWS including indexing tips, workload isolation, and suggestions for monitoring the health of your database clusters.
  • How FanFight is using MongoDB Atlas on AWS to focus on developing new and enhanced app features instead of spending time managing operations.