Voting Open for the MongoDB Community Awards

For three weeks, we invited members of the MongoDB community to nominate candidates for awards in three categories—Community Champion, Innovative Application, and MongoDB Contributor. Dozens of nominations were submitted from MongoDB users around the world.

After considerable deliberation, 10gen employees picked finalists in each of the three categories. However, it will once again be left to the MongoDB user community to choose the grand prize winners via online voting. The competition for recognition is expected to be fierce, and each vote is important. After reading the following list of award candidates, we invite you to vote on category winners.

Community Champion

This award recognizes an individual for their efforts evangelizing and growing the MongoDB community.

Nathen Harvey is the manager of Web Operations for and the co-organizer of the Washington DC MongoDB Users Group and DevOps DC. As organizer of the DC MUG, Nathen has been instrumental in growing the group to 250 members in one year through consistent meetings, detailed event summaries, and good beer.

Takahiro Inoue is the leader of the MongoDB user community in Japan, having founded the Japan MongoDB User Group, now at over 600 members, and has organized seven MongoDB seminars in Tokyo. Takahiro blogs about MongoDB frequently, is working on the first Japanese-language MongoDB book, and helped develop Treasure Data’s Fluentd, an advanced open-source log collector.

Karl Seguin is a developer with experience across various fields and technologies. With respect to MongoDB, he was a core contributor to the C# MongoDB library NoRM, wrote the interactive tutorial mongly, the Mongo Web Admin and the free Little MongoDB Book.

Rick Copeland is a Lead Software Engineer at SourceForge, where he developed the Python ODM Ming, led the effort to rewrite and open source Allura (the developer tools portion of the SourceForge site on the Python/MongoDB platform), and created the Zarkov realtime analytics framework. He is a frequent speaker at MongoDB events and an avid MongoDB enthusiast.

Innovative Application

This award recognizes a company or individual who has built an innovative application using MongoDB.

MongoPress is an open source, MongoDB-based CMS, developed by Mark Smalley. MongoPress uses PHP and jQuery to offer a NoSQL alternative which is easy to use (even for beginners) and offers a high-performance and more lightweight alternative to WordPress.

Cascade is a tool developed by the NYTimes R&D Lab that links browsing behavior on a site to sharing activity to create a map of information as it is spread and shared through social networks. Initially applied to New York Times stories and information, the tool is widely applicable and can help us to understand how messages spread in the online space.

Cube is an open-source system for visualizing time series data, built on MongoDB, Node and D3. If you send Cube timestamped events (with optional structured data), you can easily build realtime visualizations of aggregate metrics for internal dashboards. Cube was developed and open sourced by Square Inc.

MongoDB Contributor

This award recognizes a community member for significant contribution to the codebase of the MongoDB core server, language drivers, or tools.

Gustavo Niemeyer is a developer at Canonical, and in his free time, Gustavo is a contributor to Google’s Go language and the author of the mgo (mango), the MongoDB driver for Go. He also designed the Geohash concept that is used internally by MongoDB.

Nat Lueng is a Singapore-based MongoDB user. In addition to bug fixes and small enhancement in the MongoDB core, C# driver, and Java driver, Nat is prolific on the free support forums, including 2,700+ posts to date.

LearnBoost is an education startup built on node.js and MongoDB. The team, particularly Guillermo Rauch and Aaron Heckmann, built Mongoose, a popular MongoDB object modeling tool designed to work in an asynchronous environment.

Visit our voting form to weigh in on these candidates until 1:30 PST on December 9th. We’ll announce the winners at the conclusion of MongoSV.