Why does the M220N course not mention or use the Linq provider (AsQueryable)

Hi Everyone,

Just wondering why the M220N course does not focus on the Linq provider at all. I am very new to Mongo and took the course because my dotnet c# project at work is switching over to mongo from postgres. I completed the entire course and learned about the using find and aggregation queries but until today when I was looking at the docs for something I saw a whole section about using Linq via the AsQueryable method. I thought I missed something so I went back and searched the mflix code and AsQueryable is no where to be found?

Is there any reason for this, should I stay away from the Linq syntax and use the Builders instead?

Thanks,

Frank

Hi @Frank_Wisniewski, welcome to the community.
I will surely forward your feedback to the curriculum team and we will surely consider your feedback while updating the course.

For the time being, I would recommend you to take a look at our official LINQ tutorial.

In case you have any doubts, please feel free to reach out to us.

Thanks and Regards.
Sourabh Bagrecha,
Curriculum Services Engineer

Hi @SourabhBagrecha ,

Thanks, it’s not that I have any doubts. So far I really like Mongo, I feel its much more flexible then using postgres. My concern is what is the official guidance? I did some research and found some people claim that using the Linq method can create non optimal queries that run slow and are hard to diagnose. I also discovered that there is a Linq3 driver in the works, should I take that as a sign that the Linq2 driver should not be used and instead focus on learning the MQL way of doing things? Since I am just starting out with Mongo I don’t want to go down the wrong path.

Thanks,

Frank

Hi, @Frank_Wisniewski,

We introduced the LINQ3 provider as opt-in starting in the 2.14.0 driver. We will be making LINQ3 the default in an upcoming 2.x release.