Unit Testing With JUnit in Kotlin

I’m fairly new to using MongoDB, but I’m finding it quite difficult to find a way to test my Mongo code. Particularly static methods, like Credentials.emailPassword or Realm.init. For example, how would I test the following using JUnit in Kotlin?

override suspend fun login(email:String, password: String) {
    val completableDeferred = CompletableDeferred<App.Result<User>>()
    val credentials = Credentials.emailPassword(email, password)
    app.loginAsync(credentials) {
        completableDeferred.complete(it)
    }
    onResult(completableDeferred, LoginException())
}

private suspend fun onResult(completableDeferred: CompletableDeferred<App.Result<User>>, exception: MyException) {
    val result = completableDeferred.await()
    if (!result.isSuccess) {
        result.error.errorMessage?.let { exception.errorMessage = it }
        throw exception
    }
}

Thank you for any help.

Hi Joe!

Welcome to the forum.

I’m actually putting together a guide on this exact subject right now for the Android SDK, but in the meantime, I can point you toward the testing environment we use to test the code snippets that occur in the documentation: https://github.com/mongodb/docs-realm/tree/master/examples/android/sync

Basically, if you’re trying to test functionality that requires a connection to your backend Realm App, you have two options:

1. Mock the backend completely, as we’ve demonstrated here.