Trying to migrate from Local Realm to MongoDB Realm Sync

I have been using Realm for many years in an app. I just upgraded to the latest version of Realm (10.8.1) and am struggling to convert my local realm to a synced realm.

I use/create realms throughout the app using let realm = try! Realm() after setting Realm.Configuration.defaultConfiguration = config in App Delegate. The config object contains migration blocks that I have added.

From what I understand my objects now need a _id field, but I also need to create an App object, log in and then use the app users configuration to create a new realm. If I do that, I lose all the old data. First, how can I copy the old local realm data to the new synced realm? Second, can I set the defaultConfiguration to the new synced realm configuration, so I can continue using the same old try! Realm() everywhere, or is there a better practice?

Hi, @realm_guy – welcome to the community forum!

From your description, I’m assuming that you’re not using the legacy Realm sync solution (if you are, then this guide can help Realm Legacy Migration Guide - Realm Legacy Migration Guide).

You are correct that to use MongoDB Realm Sync, you need to include an _id attribute in your Objects.

I’m not aware of an automated way of moving Objects from one realm to another and so I think you’ll have to write your own deep copy/transform function in your app.

You should be able to set your default realm to your synced realm.

Hi @Andrew_Morgan. I am not using the Legacy Sync. I’ve been using Realm for a while and have been holding out for MongoDB Realm Sync, but have a few implementation questions.

I have a Log Object that has a uuid field that is a String and is the primary key. Should I rename the uuid field to _id or should I create another field for _id? Or do I create a new object type?