Trying to download my datasets after connecting to my cluster

Hello Community, I am new to the M201 class. The first lab, i am trying to download the dataset as instructed in the labs, but when i run the commands, I get this error

Uncaught:

SyntaxError : Missing semicolon. (1:14)

mongoimport --drop -c people --uri mongodb+srv:

I tried putting the semicolon where the arrow was pointed, but couldnt resolve it.

Can someone please point me in the right directions

Hi @Oludare_Jolayemi you will get that error if you try to run the mongoimport command from inside of the mongosh tool. You need to run mongoimport at your operating system prompt.

Thank you so much Doug. Question: How do i navigate to MongoImport at the Operating system level from my terminal?

If you used an installer to install the tools, then they should be be in your path environment variable and you could just type in mongoimport. This is the same as you did for mongosh.

If you downloaded a zip file and extracted the tools somewhere, then you would just change directory to that location with the cd command and then type in mongoimport (windows) or ./mongoimport (Linux/Mac).

Hello again DOug, i did as instructed, but i still get this error after running the the command below

mongoimport --drop -c people mongodb+srv://myusername:mypassword@m201-nhtgi.mongodb.net/m201 people.json

zsh: no matches found: mongodb+srv://myusername:mypassword@m201-nhtgi.mongodb.net/m201 people.json

also the path to my mongoimport is /Users/mymacusername/mongodb-database-tools-macos-x86_64-100.6.0/bin.

I cd to the path above and ran thesme command, still got same error

Can you please post a screen shot of what you’re doing. You should not be getting a syntax error if running mongoimport from the command line, which is what it sounds like since you say

This is what I get if I use the command provided in your last message: