Realm sync permissions vs collection rules

I have been a Realm Cloud developer for the last two years and am trying to migrate my code to the MongoDB Realm, which I understand is still in Beta. So I set up my cluster, my realm app, and defined my collections.

First I noticed that I cannot define my collection permissions in the UI. I see this message " Sync is in Beta: Permissions for this synced collection are set on the synced cluster". I managed to circumvent this by defining these permissions using realm-cli (export followed by import), but the permissions are not applied in any event.

I was however able to define Realm level permissions under the sync tab - using the templates provided. For the moment I can limit writes to private user level realms using the syntax:

{
  "%%partition": "%%user.id"
}

The shared realm is read only and is only written by backend server functions. That works for me at this time. My question is this. Is there something wrong with my setup, or are collection level permissions not supported at this time? If so, do you intend to support them at a future date?

Thanks

Richard Krueger

@Richard_Krueger Correct - sync permissions supersede the regular rules when sync is activated. We are working to change this in the future.

@Ian_Ward thanks for the quick reply. I will forgo trying to use collection based permissions at this time, and stick to sync based permissions. Is there any document that describes the meta-language used to specify sync based permission - I did not see it in the docs?

Yes you can see it here: https://docs.mongodb.com/realm/sync/rules/index.html

Ok, I just found it, it is actually here

https://docs.mongodb.com/realm/services/expression-variables/#expansions

Hi, I also encounter this problem,

How to set schema level permission using Sync Rule? for example: for certain collections, users can only insert a new document into it not updating it, while other collections are free to write.

Is it possible?