Modelling for beginners: different owner entities

I came across an interesting task today. Let’s assume I have an application that has Users, Items and Organizations.

A user can be a member of multiple organizations, but doesn’t have to be a member of any organizations. Items can be owned by either users or organizations. How would a good MongoDB schema for this look like?

Most commonly Items are queried. Usually (but not always!) the user querying the item is either the owner of the item(s) queried or a member of the organization that owns the item(s).

I’m not very experienced with document oriented databases and thought about this for a while, but did not come to a satisfying conclusion. The only thing that very quickly occured to me: Oh my god, I’m happy I don’t have to do this in a relational database

I would look at this page for a One to Many - Embedded or One to Many - Reference to get an idea. But here is something you could do:

You could create an items collection (especially if you have “common” items multiple users could own

{
item_id: 1234
name: Item 1
description: item 1 description
}

Then you can just query the item collection to get information about the item.

Then in either the owner/user that has the item you could create an array of items:

{
user_id: 55555
items: [1234, 1445]
}

Also, let’s say an item description changes you just have to change it in the items collection and when ever you reference the “item_id” it will be the updated info.

You can do the same thing with the organizations users

{
org_id: 9999
users: [55555,77777]
}

Wouldn’t that be a bad practice? I thought having some entities being direct children of others would be a lot more performant than having them seperate using references and júst “joining” them together?

No. It is a design pattern on the MongoDB website