Is this the name of cluster or database?

Hi, I’m new to MongoDB and I’m learning it by following the M001 course right now.

When we are on the “Database Deployments” page on the Atlas management platform, we can find an entry listed below, which is called “Sandbox”(the one I created by following the official tutorial of the M001 course). And when I am trying to connect to my MongoDB databases or cluster(whatever), the connection string prompts me to replace the “myFirstDatabase” with my own one so I used “Sandbox” instead. I supposed the “Sandbox” should be my database. However, when I connected to the database successfully, the tutorial showed me to use the command “show dbs” to list all the databases I have on my system. Then I got a list as follows:

sample_airbnb 55.70 MiB
sample_analytics 9.13 MiB
sample_geospatial 1.36 MiB
sample_guides 40.00 KiB
sample_mflix 47.80 MiB
sample_restaurants 6.59 MiB
sample_supplies 1.12 MiB
sample_training 54.66 MiB
sample_weatherdata 2.75 MiB
admin 340.00 KiB
local 3.13 GiB

I’m confused with those “Databases” listed above. Is “Sandbox” my database? Why there are many other databases stored in the Sandbox? A database contains other databases? So confusing here.

Hi @Rick_Qin and welcome in the MongoDB Community :muscle: !

In MongoDB Atlas, when you deploy a 3 nodes clusters (Free M0 or the more expensive M700), you are deploying a MongoDB Replica Set which contains databases which contains collections which finally contains documents.

“Database Deployments” in the UI refers to “Clusters” or “MongoDB Deployments” if you prefer.

Let’s see an example:

My Free forever M0 cluster is named “Free”.

I can connect to it using mongosh this command line that I get using the “Connect” button:

mongosh "mongodb+srv://free.ab12c.mongodb.net/myFirstDatabase" --apiVersion 1 --username max