Interactions between mongodb realm and Atlas Clusters

I am a mobile developer without much experience in backend. I am wondering how does the mongodb realm interact with the underlying Atlas Clusters. More specifically I have these questions:

1. The doc of mongodb realm says that mongodb can

Deploy server-side applications without having to set up and manage server infrastructure.

But I do need to setup an Atlas cluster right?

2. How does scale-up work? Should I change the underlying clusters myself when needed?

3. How does the backup work? The same doc also says:

Realm includes provisioning, deployment, operating systems, web servers, logging, backups, and redundancy.

But I don’t see details about backups/recovery in the doc. I’ve found out there is an option to turn on mongodb backup for the underlying Atlas cluster, but that’s not managed by the realm app.

4. I chose AWS as the underlying infra. Is the data replicated in multiple availability zones? How available is mongodb realm?

5. What else should I take care about Atlas while using mongodb realm?

Hello Sen,

I’m Brock, and I’d be glad to help clear things up for you.

What I’m going to do, is I’m going to walk through the creation of an Atlas Cluster, and go through starting up a Realm App as I answer your questions.

So for starters, just to clarify it doesn’t necessarily matter which PCS (Public Cloud Service) that you use, I would use the one that you feel the most comfortable with. As like I myself, I personally have an M2 cluster in AWS, GCP, and Azure that I have destroyed and rebuilt a few times among others in testing and developing applications.

As you can see:

I will be destroying both the AWS and GCP instances to show you the differences as I go about answering your questions.

For #1