GraphQL API > Function (add data from 3rd party API to collection)

Hello… newbie here and super excited about MongoDB, a whole world of opportunities opened up… :slight_smile:

I hope you guys can help me out as I am struggling to do the following.

With GraphQL API and the Function (Fucntion Editor) did I understand how to call data from 3rd party API to add to my endpoint. The endpoint already has data from my MongoDB collection. What I aim to achieve is to have the data from the 3rd party API to be added to my collection so I can define “relationships” and do other things with the 3rd party API data in my MongoDB. How would I go about doing that?

Thanks a lot for your help.

To add data from a third-party API to your MongoDB collection using a GraphQL API and Function Editor, you can follow these general steps:

Set up your GraphQL API: Ensure that you have a GraphQL API in place, which serves as the endpoint for your application.

Create a Function in the Function Editor: In your GraphQL API provider’s Function Editor or serverless function environment, create a new function. This function will be responsible for fetching data from the third-party API and adding it to your MongoDB collection.

Integrate the third-party API: In your function, use appropriate HTTP libraries or tools to make a request to the third-party API and retrieve the desired data. You may need to provide any required authentication tokens or API keys to access the data.

Parse and transform the data: Once you receive the data from the third-party API, parse and transform it as needed to match the structure and format of your MongoDB collection. This step ensures that the data can be properly stored in your existing collection.

Connect to your MongoDB: Establish a connection to your MongoDB database from within your function. You’ll need to provide the necessary credentials and connection details to access your collection.