Collection Modelling for user segmentation

Hi,

I’m pretty new to Mongo and what mongo can do, so I’ve decided to ask for some help related to a problem that I’m having.
I’m building a customer data platform where you can segment users based on different user attributes and then push those users to Facebook Audiences / Google Audiences, etc.

Explanation of what I currently have:

Let’s assume we have the following collections with their schemas:

Customers:

_id: ObjectId
first_name: string
last_name: string
email: string
source_id: ObjectId (ref customer sources)
date_added: Date

Customer sources (the sources where the customers come from):

name: string
config: {
   // different configs about where to pull data from and how to do it
}

Segments config:

attributes for filtering Customers
}

Segments (an aggregation of customers) - using Bucket/Outlier Pattern:

users: Array<ObjectId>
segment_config_id: ObjectId
version: number
count: number
hasExtras: boolean

So basically, I have a customer source that adds customers to the Customers collection. I can then create a segment config based on different attributes. For example:

I want to create a segment with the following attributes:
date_added LTE last 7 days
customer source id 123122321321

So that will create a segment config:

_id: 12345
   customer_source_id: ObjectId(123122321321)
   date_added: {$lte: 7 days}
}

and a Segment (bucket pattern):

_id: ObjectId(random)
users: [ObjectId(userId1day1), ObjectId(userId2day1), ... , ObjectId(userId450day1)}
segment_config_id: ObjectId(12345)
version: 1
count: 2
hasExtras: false

Now let’s say that the next day my customer source updates the customers collection with 2000 more users and the first 200 users in the segment do not match the segment config.
I have a cron that checks if a segment needs to be updated. So my Segment will become:

users: [ObjectId(userId201day1), ObjectId(userId450day1),ObjectId(userId1day2) ...,(ObjectId(userId750day2)],
version: 2