Chapter 1: Lab - Configuration File

Can someone please help me? I do not know what I am doing wrong. I created the configuration file and placed it in jackeeclifton/m103/m103-vagrant-env/shared but I am getting an error.

Screen Shot 2020-03-04 at 10.50.13 AM

You start one mongod with mongod --port 27000 … and then right after you start another one with your config file. If your config file specifies the same port number you have a conflict. You must terminate the first one gracefully and try to restart the second one.

Thank you steevej-1495 for your response. I don’t understand what you mean if the config file specifies the same port number you have a conflict. I am sorry. I am new to all of this and think I am getting myself confused.

The requirements for this lab are:
As a reminder, here are the requirements of your mongod instance:

run on port 27000
data files are stored in /data/db/
listens to connections from the IP address 192.168.103.100 and localhost
authentication is enabled

So in configuration file, to satisfy run on port 27000 you specified an item that does the same as --port 27000. If you go back to “Lecture - Configuration File” you will find the item to do that in the link provided which is the following https://docs.mongodb.com/manual/reference/configuration-options/.

1 Like

Hi @Jackee_60553,

I hope you found @steevej-1495’s response helpful.

You can’t have two mongod instances running on the same port or use the same datapath (dbpath).

Please let us know if you have any questions.

Thanks,
Shubham Ranjan
Curriculum Services Engineer

Hi Shubham,
I am getting the same error as i have booted my VM just now and login to shell using vagrant ssh and then used below command:
mongod --config /shared/mongod.cfg
even i tried changing the switch to -f
mongod -f /shared/mongod.cfg

but same error. See screenshot below:
Please help.

What is your data path?

You should look at the log file, it will most likely gives clues.

Hi @Deepak_22705,