A SwiftUI example with the smallest amount of code - How to add test data to preview

Hi, I’m new to the MongoDB community with an interest in using MongoDB Realm with SwiftUI. Using some of the SwiftUI samples provided with Realm as guidance, I wanted to write an example of using Realm with the smallest amount of code. This is what I came up with (not even an HStack or padding to make it look nice):

import SwiftUI
import RealmSwift

class AutoMaker: Object, ObjectKeyIdentifiable {
    @objc dynamic var name = ""
}

struct ContentView: View {
    @State private var text = ""
    @ObservedResults(AutoMaker.self) var autoMakers

var body: some View {
        TextField("Automaker Name", text: $text)
        Button(action: addItem) {
            Text("Add")
        }
        List {
            ForEach(autoMakers) {autoMaker in
                Text(autoMaker.name)
            }
            .onDelete(perform: $autoMakers.remove)
        }
    }

func addItem() {       
        let maker = AutoMaker()
        maker.name = text
        $autoMakers.append(maker)
    }
}

struct ContentView_Previews: PreviewProvider {
    static var previews: some View {
        ContentView()
    }
}

And this is what it looks like:

SwiftUI_Small_Gif

It amazes me that I can create a working sample that adds and deletes items from a database with less than 20 lines of added code.

I do have a question however. In keeping with the theme of writing the smallest amount of code, if I want to add sample data to show up in the Preview window, what is the simplest way to do that? I found code in Andrew Morgan’s RChat example where there is a Realm.bootstrap() function called as the first line in PreviewProvider code (here). The function loads a realm database before the preview code is called. In that example, each Realm object class implements a protocol called Samplable in an extension and then provides sample data.