Webinar: Hadoop and MongoDB - Understanding Your Big Data

Wednesday May 21st 9:00am PDT / 12:00pm EDT / 5:00pm BST

This webinar has already passed, visit our presentations page to view a recording of the presentation.


Big Data is the evolution of supercomputing for commercial enterprise and governments. Originally the domain of companies operating at Internet scale, today Big Data connects organizations of all sizes with discovery about their patterns, and insights into their business.

But understanding the differences between the plethora of new technologies can be daunting. Graph / columnar / key value store / document are all called NoSQL, but which is best? How does Hadoop play in this ecosystem - its low cost and high efficiency have made it very popular, but how does it fit?

In this webinar, we will explore:

  • The full spectrum of Big Data
  • Hadoop and MongoDB: friends or frenemies?
  • Differences between Systems of Record and Systems of Engagement
  • MongoDB customer examples of Systems of Engagement

Jnan Dash: About the speaker

Jnan Dash is an executive consultant in Silicon Valley. He spent 10 years at Oracle corporation and was the Group Vice President, Systems Architecture and Technology. Prior to joining Oracle, he spent 16 years at IBM in various positions including development of the DB2 family of products and in charge of IBM's database architecture and technology. He serves on several boards and advisory boards including being senior advisor to MongoDB.

Get notified when this webinar happens again