Webinar: Back to Basics 1: MongoDB Patterns: Thinking in Documents

Webinar: Back to Basics 1: MongoDB Patterns: Thinking in Documents

Thursday May 29th 11:00am PDT / 2:00pm EDT / 7:00pm BST

This webinar has already passed, visit our presentations page to view a recording of the presentation.


New applications, users and inputs demand new types of data, like unstructured, semi-structured and polymorphic data. Adopting MongoDB means adopting to a new, document-based data model. While most developers have internalized the rules of thumb for designing schemas for relational databases, these rules don't apply to MongoDB. Documents can represent rich data structures, providing lots of viable alternatives to the standard, normalized, relational model. In addition, MongoDB has several unique features, such as atomic updates and indexed array keys, that greatly influence the kinds of schemas that make sense. In this session, we'll explore how you can take advantage of MongoDB's document model to build modern applications.

Mike Friedman: About the speaker

Mike Friedman is a Perl Engineer & Evangelist at MongoDB. Mike is the current maintainer of the Perl MongoDB driver and is the author of a number of other CPAN modules, including Redis::Client. Prior to MongoDB, Mike has hacked Perl at a number of New York-based high-tech startups, as well as media and educational services companies.

Get notified when this webinar happens again