Webinar: Back to Basics 3: Scaling to 30,000 Requests Per Second with MongoDB

Webinar: Back to Basics 3: Scaling to 30,000 Requests Per Second with MongoDB

Thursday June 12th 11:00am PDT / 2:00pm EDT / 6:00pm UTC

This webinar has already passed, visit our presentations page to view a recording of the presentation.


Operating a complex infrastructure at massive scale presents unique challenges. At Crittercism, as we've grown to service over 30,000 sustained requests/s, we've had to learn a few lessons the hard way. By combining the right technologies and applying them appropriately, and basing our data storage solution on MongoDB, we've been able to meet customer demand and maintain uptime while managing to sleep through the night as well. This talk will present some tips and tricks we've developed for operating MongoDB at production scale, as well as some pitfalls we've encountered and how to avoid them.

Mike Chesnut: About the speaker

Mike began his career working as a Unix systems administrator at the University of Illinois in 2002. Since 2008, he has been entrenched in production operations for various startups, growing Aggregate Knowledge to a billion-plus request-per-day service prior to its acquisition by Neustar, doing a stint at Netflix where he worked with both their traditional data center and cloud operations teams, and most recently at Crittercism where he leads a small team of Ops and DBA professionals managing the world's leading mobile APM solution. Having used MongoDB a bit at multiple companies prior to joining Crittercism, he dove head-first into managing a several-terabyte cluster in order to meet Crittercism's ever-expanding business needs. Mike is passionate about designing scalable and resilient systems and thrives on providing highly available services to customers.

Get notified when this webinar happens again